iPad eTextbooks – A Deal or Not? | PadGadget

My days of hanging out at the Student Union Building are long gone but the idea of using an iPad to replace the expensive (and often heavy) textbooks I carried around during my college days really intrigues me. When I read a CourseSmart press release about their new eTextbooks for the iPad app this week, I decided to check out the price differences between the new high tech eTextbooks and the tried-and-true traditional hardcovers.

I started my comparison by entering basic subjects (biology, economics, calculus, etc.) into the eTextbook app and received a list of titles.  I then used that list to find the equivalent hardcover or paperback books on Amazon. For the most part, the majority of the prices from CourseSmart’s eTextbook were significantly lower (see chart below).  My initial thought was, students (and parents) are going to save a lot of money on textbooks with apps like this one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

