Should I wait for iPad 2.0? | iPad Watcher

Recently I’ve had several people ask me whether they should buy an iPad now or wait for the second generation that is sure to come next year.  That is certainly a question that anyone that is considering buying electronic devices faces and there are already some consistent indications of areas in which the next generation of the iPad should improve on the current one.

The current generation of the iPad is a great device for doing many things.  In fact, I’ve noticed that it made me a lot more productive at several tasks I do regularly and after a couple of weeks using it I discovered that going back to the way I did them before was quite a bit of a pain.

I use the iPad for going through emails and tweets much faster than what I was able to do on a notebook or desktop computer.  The interface is just a lot more productive and the low cost of the of the applications have let me experiment and find the ones that are better suited to my own way of working.  I certainly like to read on the iPad.  In fact, the iPad is a great solution for reading all those PDFs you want to read, but don’t feel like sitting in front of a computer to read.

Through the months I have been following the iPad and how people use it,  I came to the conclusion that the iPad is a personal device.  It is not something you would want to share with other people.  That being the case, once you have one in your household, it will be just a matter of time before you start thinking about getting another, for someone else in the family.  With this in mind I feel comfortable in saying that if you see the possibility of using an iPad to become more productive now, to reduce the weight you carry around daily, you should definitely get one now.  If you can find a store that has the model you want, as supply is still having trouble with keeping up with the demand.

The second generation of the iPad, or iPad 2.0 as I have began calling it will most probably have a lot more memory and at least a front facing camera for FaceTime calls.  It will probably have one or two features you and I can’t even begin to think about, as Apple is always looking for new ways to cause an impact.

Just think that when it comes out, if you feel the irresistible urge to get a new model there will always be someone that will be happy to get your iPad 1.0.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

